State and Provincial Master Gardener Programs: Extension and Affiliated Program Listings

Extension Master Gardener September 05, 2018 Print Friendly and PDF

National EMG logoLooking to find an Extension Master Gardener program in your state? Nearly all Master Gardener programs in the United States administer training through a state land-grant university and its Cooperative Extension Service, and are considered Extension Master Gardener programs.  Extension Master Gardeners receive and recommend university and research-based information through the Cooperative Extension System. The State Extension Master Gardener programs listed below follow these guidelines:

  • The organization is affiliated with a university for the training and education of their volunteers.
  • The focus of these organizations is to train EMG volunteers to distribute information to the public.
  • The organization recommends research-based information to the public.
  • The organization has a certification program for their volunteers.
  • The organization has an educational focus rather than promoting commercial products or entities.

Several Master Gardener programs in Canada and the U.S  are not administered by a state land-grant university or its Cooperative Extension Service, but have been affiliated with the Extension Master Gardener program through their involvement with the bi-annual International Master Gardener Conference (IMGC) and Search for Excellence awards program. Through IMGC, a tradition of volunteer and educational service are honored.

Find a State Extension Master Gardener Program Near You

Nearly all 50 states and the District of Columbia have an Extension Master Gardener program. Find an Extension Master Gardener program in your state (listed below in alphabetical order):

A | C | D | F | G | H | I | K | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

 

ALABAMA

Kerry Smith
101 Funchess Hall
Auburn University
Auburn, AL 36849-5630

Phone: 334/844-3036
E-mail: smithkp@auburn.edu

 

ALASKA

Julie Riley
University of Alaska
221 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Suite 118
Anchorage, AK 99508 – 4143

Phone: 907/786-6300
Email: jariley@alaska.edu

ARIZONA

 

 

ARKANSAS

Janet Carson
Extension Horticulturist
Univ. of Arkansas, P.O. Box 391
2301 S. University
Little Rock, AR. 72203

Phone: 501/671-2174
E-mail: jcarson@uaex.edu

 

CALIFORNIA

Missy Gable
Director, UC Master Gardener Program
2801 Second Street
Davis, CA 95618-7779

Phone: 530/750-1266
Email:
mjgable@ucanr.edu

 

COLORADO

Mary Small
Colorado Master Gardener Coordinator
4040 Campus Delivery
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-4040

Phone: 970/491-6603
E-mail:mary.small@colostate.edu

 

CONNECTICUT

Sarah Bailey
State Extension Master Gardener Program Leader
Hartford County Extension Center
270 Farmington Ave, Exchange Bldg., Suite 262
West Hartford, CT 06032

Phone: 860/409-9053-9023
Email: sarah.bailey@uconn.edu

 

DELAWARE

Valann Budischak
Delaware Cooperative Extension, Extension Agent
Univ. of Delaware Botanic Gardens, Volunteer & Education Coordinator
Delaware Nursery & Landscape Association, Executive Director
152 Townsend Hall
Newark, DE  19716-2170

Phone: 302/831-4188
Email: valannb@udel.edu

 

FLORIDA

Wendy Wilber
107 Mehrhof Hall, PO Box 110675
Gainesville, FL 32611

Phone: 352/392-1831 ext. 331
E-mail: gardening@ifas.ufl.edu

 

GEORGIA

Sheri Dorn
Coordinator, Georgia Master Gardener Extension Volunteer Program
Extension Horticulture Specialist, Ornamentals
University of Georgia, Griffin Campus
1109 Experiment Street, Cowart Building
Griffin, GA 30223-1731

Phone: 770/228-7243
Email: sdorn@uga.edu

HAWAII

Jayme Grzebik
Urban Horticulturist & Master Gardener Coordinator
University of Hawaii at Manoa
955 Kamehameha Hwy
Pearl City, Hawaii 96782

Phone: 808/453-6059
Email: grzebik@hawaii.edu

 

IDAHO

TBA

Email:

 

ILLINOIS

Candice Hart
Extension Horticulture Educator
UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS EXTENSION - Serving DeWitt, Macon & Piatt Counties
8425 Katie Rd. | Clinton, IL 61727

Phone: 217/935-5764

Emaill: mille116@illinois.edu

 

 

INDIANA

John Orick
Purdue Master Gardener State Coordinator
Purdue University, Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
625 Agricultural Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2010
Office location: Hort 203-B

Phone: 765/496-7956
Email: orick@purdue.edu

 

IOWA

Susan DeBlieck
Master Gardener Coordinator
Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, Department of Horticulture
106 Horticulture Hall, Ames, IA 50011

Phone: 515/294-6764
Email: deblieck@iastate.edu

 

KANSAS

Ward Upham, Extension Associate
2021 Throckmorton Hall
Manhattan, KS. 66506-5507

Phone: 785/532-1438
E-mail: wupham@ksu.edu

 

KENTUCKY

Rick Durham
University of Kentucky
N-318 Ag. Sci. N
Lexington, KY 40546-0091

Phone: 859/257-3249
Email: rdurham@uky.edu

 

LOUISIANA

Dr. Sarah Rogers Shields
Courthouse Annex
180 E. Main St. 1st Floor
New Roads, LA. 70760-3500

Phone: 225/638-5533
E-mail: srshields@agcenter.lsu.edu

 

MAINE

Amy Witt, Horticulturist
UMaine Cooperative Extension
PO Box 9300
Portland, ME 04104-9300

Phone: 207/780-4205
Email: amy.witt@maine.edu

Marjorie Peronto, Educator
UMaine Cooperative Extension
63 Boggy Brook Road
Ellsworth, ME  04605

Phone: 207/667-8212
Email: marjorie.peronto@maine.edu

Frank Wertheim, Educator
UMaine Cooperative Extension
21 Bradeen Street, Suite 302
Springvale, ME 04083

Phone: 207.324.2814
Email: frank.wertheim@maine.edu

 

MARYLAND

Jon Traunfeld
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Extension Specialist, Fruits and Vegetables
Email: jont@umd.edu
Phone: 410/531-5572

University of Maryland Extension
Home and Garden Information Center
12005 Homewood Rd.
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Fax: 410/531-5567

 

MASSACHUSETTS

No longer administered by University of Massachusetts Extension
See the Master Gardener Affiliate Programs listing for more information.
 

MICHIGAN

Mary A. Wilson
MSU Extension Southeast Region
28115 Meadowbrook Road
Novi , MI 48377-3128

Phone: 248/347-0269 x 3
Email: wilsonm1@msu.edu

 

MINNESOTA

Tim Kenny
Director of Education, Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
Director, Extension Master Gardener Volunteer Program
University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
3675 Arboretum Drive
Chanhassen, MN 55318

Phone: 612/301-3482
Email: kenny003@umn.edu

 

MISSISSIPPI

Jeff Wilson
Horticulture Specialist MSU Extension

Phone 662/566-8019
Email: jeff.wilson@msstate.edu

 

MISSOURI

Missouri Master Gardener Extension Program
1-40A Agriculture Building
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO. 65211

Phone: 573/882-9633

 

MONTANA

Dara Palmer
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Montana State University
PO Box 173140
Bozeman, MT 59717-3140 Location
410 Leon Johnson


Phone: 406/994-2120
Email:dara.palmer@montana.edudara.palmer@montana.edu

 

NEBRASKA

Terri James
Nebraska Extension Educator - Horticulture
University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Dept. Agronomy & Horticulture
172 Keim Hall, PO Box 830915
Lincoln, NE 68583-0915

Phone: 402/472-8973
Email: tjames2@unl.edu

 

NEVADA

Please contact the Extension Master Gardener program nearest you:


Central/Northeast Area:

Southern Area

Dr. Angela O’Callaghan
Southern Area Spec.
University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
8050 Paradise Road, #100
Las Vegas, NV 89123

Phone: 702/257-5581
Email:ocallaghana@unce.unr.edu

Western Area

Dr. Heidi Kratsch
Western Area Horticulture Specialist
University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
4955 Energy Way
Reno, NV 89502

Phone:  775/336-0251 (direct line), 775/784-4848 (main office)
Email: kratschh@unce.unr.edu

Websites and Social Media:

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Marcy Stanton
Master Gardener Coordinator
UNH Cooperative Extension
329 Mast Road, Suite 115
Goffstown, NH 03045

Phone: 603/351-3831
Email: marcy.stanton@unh.edu

 

NEW MEXICO

L. Kelly White
Extension Master Gardener Program Manager
1036 Miller Road
Los Lunas, NM 87031


Phone: 505/865-7340
E-mail: lkelly@nmsu.edu

 

NEW JERSEY

Jan Zientek
County Extension Department Head
Senior Program Coordinator
Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources
NJ Agricultural Experiment Station
Cooperative Extension of Essex County
621A Eagle Rock Avenue
Roseland, NJ 07068

Phone: 973-228-3179
Email:zientek@njaes.rutgers.edu

 

NEW YORK

Lori Brewer
Leader of Adult and Family Education
Cornell Garden-based Learning Program
134b Plant Science
Department of Horticulture
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853

Phone: 607/255-5918
Email:ljb7@cornell.edu

 

NORTH CAROLINA

Charlotte Glen
NC State University
Department of Horticultural Science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Campus Box 7609
Kilgore Hall 270, 2721 Founders Drive
Raleigh, NC 27695-7609

Phone: 919/515-1226
Email: Charlotte_Glen@ncsu.edu

NORTH DAKOTA

Esther E McGinnis, Ph.D.
Extension Horticulturist and Assistant Professor
Dept of Plant Sciences
Office: 166H Loftsgard Hall
NDSU Dept 7670, PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108

Phone: 701/231-7406
Email:Esther.mcginnis@ndsu.edu

 

OHIO

Pam Bennett
Master Gardener State Coordinator
OSU Extension, Clark Co.
3130 E. Main St.
Springfield, OH 45505

Phone: 937/521-3868
Email:bennett.27@osu.edu

 

OKLAHOMA

David Hillock
Oklahoma State Univ., Dept. of Horticulture & Landscape Architecture
360 Agri. Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078

Phone: 405/744-5158
Email:david.hillock@okstate.edu

 

OREGON

Gail Langellotto
Master Gardener Coordinator
OSU-Dept of Horticulture
4017 Ag and Life Sciences Bldg
Corvalis, OR 97331-7304

Phone: 541/737-5175
Email:gail.langellotto@oregonstate.edu

 

PENNSYLVANIA

Nancy Knauss
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Penn State Extension
Energy Innovation Center – Suite A
1435 Bedford Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Phone: 412/482-3453
Email: njk12@psu.edu

 

RHODE ISLAND

Vanessa Venturini 
Cooperative Extension Master Gardener Coordinators
URI Outreach Center
3 East Alumni Avenue
Kingston, RI 02881-0804

Phone: 401/874-7142
Email: vanessa@uri.edu

 

SOUTH CAROLINA

Terasa Lott
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Clemson Cooperative Extension
2685 S. Irby St., Ste. K
Florence, SC 29505

Phone: 843-661-4800 x113
Email: terasa@clemson.edu

 

SOUTH DAKOTA

David Graper
Master Gardener Coordinator - Interim
254A Edgar S. McFadden Biostress Laboratory (SNP), Box 2140C
Brookings, SD 57007

Phone: 605/688-5796
Email: david.graper@sdstate.edu

 

TENNESSEE

Dr. Natalie Bumgarner
2431 Joe Johnson Drive
252 Ellington Plant Science Building

Knoxville, TN 37996

Phone: 865/974-7324
Email: nbumgarn@utk.edu

 

TEXAS

Jayla Fry
225 Horticulture/Forestry Sciences Bld
Texas A & M University
College Station, TX 77843-2134

Phone: 979/845-3308
Email: jbfry@tamu.edu

 

UTAH

 

VERMONT

Beret Halverson
UVM Extension, Master Gardener Program
63 Carrigan Dr. Jeffords 206 Burlington, VT 05401

Phone: 802/656-1777
Email: beret.halverson@uvm.edu

 

VIRGINIA

David D. Close, Consumer Horticulture and Master Gardener Specialist
Department of Horticulture
407 Saunders Hall
Blacksburg, VA. 24061-0327

Phone: 540/231-2714
Email: dclose@vt.edu

John Freeborn, Assistant Master Gardener Coordinator
Virginia Tech, Department of Horticulture
407 Saunders (0327)

Phone: 540/231-2714
Email: freeborn@vt.edu

 

WASHINGTON

Jim Kropf
Interim State Master Gardener Program Leader
Phone: 253/445-4526
Email: jakropf@wsu.edu

 

WASHINGTON, DC

Sandy Farber Bandier
Environmental and Natural Resources Extension Agent
Master and Junior Master Gardener Coordinator
University of the District of Columbia Cooperative Extension Service
4200 Connecticut Ave NW Washington, DC 20008

Phone: 202/274-7166
 

WEST VIRGINIA

Dr. Mirjana Bulatovic-Danilovich
Associate Professor & Extension Horticulture Specialist
State Extension Master Gardener Coordinator
West Virginia University
2088 Agricultural Sciences Building
Morgantown, WV 26506-6108

Phone: 304/293-2620

Email: mira.danilovich@mail.wvu.edu

 

WISCONSIN

R. Michael Maddox
Director, Wisconsin Master Gardener Program
University of Wisconsin-Extension, Cooperative Extension
Email: mike.maddox@ces.uwex.edu

Dr. Susan E. Rice Mahr
Coordinator, Wisconsin Master Gardener Program
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Horticulture
Email: semahr@facstaff.wisc.edu

Wisconsin Master Gardener Volunteer Program
1575 Linden Drive
University of Wisconsin- Madison
Madison, WI. 53706

Phone: 608/265-4504

 

WYOMING

Chris Hilgert
100 E University Ave.
Dept. 3354
Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307/766-3103
Email: chilgert@uwyo.edu

 

Master Gardener Affiliate Programs

These programs are not administered by a state land-grant university or its Cooperative Extension Service, but have been affiliated with the Extension Master Gardener program through their involvement with the bi-annual International Master Gardener Conference (IMGC) and Search for Excellence awards program. Through IMGC,  a tradition of volunteer and educational service are honored.

MASSACHUSETTS

Cape Cod Master Gardener Association

Massachusetts Master Gardener Association

West Massachusetts Master Gardener Association
66 Rural Lane
East Longmeadow, MA 01028
Phone: 413/525-6742

CANADIAN PROVINCES

Alberta

Atlantic (multiple provinces)

British Columbia

Manitoba

Ontario

Saskatchewan

 

 

Master Gardener Coordinators requesting changes to this list can send requests to emg@extension.org

Connect with us

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

Welcome

This is where you can find research-based information from America's land-grant universities enabled by eXtension.org

LOCATE

USDA / NIFA

This work is supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, New Technologies for Ag Extension project.