Identifying Birds on the Farm

Organic Agriculture October 16, 2018 Print Friendly and PDF

Join eOrganic for a webinar on identifying birds on the farm, by Olivia Smith of Washington State University! Like all eOrganic webinars, this one is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. It takes place on January 15 at 2PM Eastern, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain and 11AM Pacific Time. 

Register now at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_BRNN_4RxT7eIRr4nuzA4_Q

About the Webinar

Wild birds are common inhabitants on every organic farm, but identification can be tricky. Participants will learn how to identify common farmland birds, their primary diets, and what their habitat requirements are. Learning to identify and attract beneficial insectivores and identify and discourage pests can help to maximize the benefits of wild birds while minimizing risks. The webinar will conclude by providing additional resources for wild bird identification and management for participants interested in continued education. North America holds over 400 breeding bird species, so the webinar will only cover the most common found in agricultural settings.

About the Presenter

Olivia Smith is a PhD candidate at Washington State University. Her research is focused on the role of wild birds in organic agriculture, with an emphasis on how farm management and the habitat around a farm shape the functional role of the bird community.

Funding for this webinar was provided by the NIFA OREI grant Avian Biodiversity: Impacts, Risks And Descriptive Survey.

 

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.

eOrganic 28044

Connect with us

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Welcome

This is where you can find research-based information from America's land-grant universities enabled by eXtension.org

LOCATE

USDA / NIFA

This work is supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, New Technologies for Ag Extension project.