Lower Financial Risk by Increasing Soil Health

Organic Agriculture October 10, 2018 Print Friendly and PDF

Join eOrganic and the Organic Farming Research Foundation for a webinar on how to lower your financial risk by increasing soil health by Mark Schonbeck of the Virginia Association for Biological Farming. The webinar is free and open to the public, and takes place on January 16, 2019 at 11 AM Pacific, 12PM Mountain, 1PM Central, 2PM Eastern Time. Advance registration is required.

Register now at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_4LDbh4iBTSGdH0ulpYFpHQ

 

About the Webinar

Building soil health through improved crop rotations, cover cropping, organic soil amendments, and other organic practices can improve yield stability and reduce risks of losses to drought, temperature extremes, weeds, and other stresses. Farmer experience and research have shown that healthy soil is the best form of crop insurance. Based on organic agricultural research and producer experience, this webinar will explore how several key soil health practices can reduce risks during organic transition and organic production.

About the Presenter

Mark Schonbeck has worked for 31 years as a researcher, consultant, and educator in sustainable and organic agriculture. He has participated in on-farm research into mulching, cover crops, minimum tillage, and nutrient management for organic vegetables. For many years, he has written for the Virginia Association for Biological Farming newsletter and served as their policy liason to the National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition. He has also participated in different research projects to analyze, evaluate and improve federally funded organic and sustainable agriculture programs. In addition, Mark offers individual consulting in soil test interpretation, soil quality and nutrient management, crop rotation, cover cropping, and weed management.

Funding for this webinar is provided by the USDA Risk Management Agency.

 

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.

eOrganic 25289

Connect with us

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Welcome

This is where you can find research-based information from America's land-grant universities enabled by eXtension.org

LOCATE

USDA / NIFA

This work is supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, New Technologies for Ag Extension project.