On Farm Variety Trials: Toolkit for Risk Management of Organic and Specialty Crop Producers,

Organic Agriculture January 05, 2018 Print Friendly and PDF

In 2018, The Organic Seed Alliance will provide training to organic and specialty crop growers in on-farm variety trial skills through four on-farm workshops, two conference workshops, a two-part series of live webinars hosted by eOrganic, and this online toolkit that will include archived webinars, an on-farm trial guide, and online trial evaluation and data analysis tools.

Two-Part Webinar: Conducting On Farm Variety Trials to Manage Risk for Organic and Speciality Crop Producers

March 20 and April 11, 2018, 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). Register here. Recordings from these webinars will be posted on this page.

The On Farm Variety Trialling Guide

Scheduled for release in February 2018, and will be posted here

The Seed to Kitchen Screening Trial Evaluation Template: Download

This template was developed by the Seed to Kitchen Collaborative at University of Wisconsin-Madison. It provides a good example for how a qualitative data sheet might be set up, and the Microsoft Excel format makes it easily customizable. 

The Organic Seed Alliance Trial Evaluation Sheet: Download

This sheet can be used for quantitative or qualitative data, and could be used either for a single data collection event, or filled in over time. A customizable version will be available shortly. 

The Seed to Kitchen Management Sheet: Download

This sheet allows growers to keep track of how they manage each trial, or each block of a trial. This is especially important for trails spanning multiple years. 

Register for the Organic Seed Growers Conference here

eOrganic will be broadcasting several workshops from the conference and we will post recordings here.

This toolkit and the related outreach events are delivered in partnership between the USDA, Risk Management Agency (RMA), Organic Seed Alliance (OSA), University Wisconsin-Madison, Oregon State Univeristy, eOrganic and the Midwest Organic and Sustainable Education Services (MOSES). This publication is funded in partnership by USDA, Risk Management Agency, under award # RM17RMEPP522C027.

 

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.

eOrganic 24313

Connect with us

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Welcome

This is where you can find research-based information from America's land-grant universities enabled by eXtension.org

LOCATE

USDA / NIFA

This work is supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, New Technologies for Ag Extension project.