September Webcast To Cover Hydrogen Sulfide

Animal Manure Management September 21, 2015 Print Friendly and PDF

livestock and poultry environmental learning center logo with cow, pig, and chicken sillhouettes over a map of the U.S. with three circling arrowsPrinter friendly webcast flyer.

Hydrogen sulfide gas (H2S) is produced from animal manures under anaerobic conditions. Hydrogen sulfide is an odorant and most people associate H2S with that 'rotten egg' smell. H2S is known as an indoor air pollutant of concern, where it can reach toxic, and even lethal, concentrations in confined manure storage pits.

Why Are We Concerned About Hydrogen Sulfide?

But is it more than an odorant at outdoor concentrations? What perspective can be offered by a state regulatory agency that has regulated H2S from AFOs for several years and has a monitoring program in place? With the US EPA deliberating whether AFOs must comply with CERCLA/EPCRA reporting requirements (decision pertaining to ammonia and H2S emissions due out this fall), discussion of the scope of emissions from livestock operations seems warranted.

What can recent studies on H2S emissions from confinement buildings and from open lots tell us about the extent of importance to place on H2S as an outdoor air quality concern? Find discussion of these questions and more at the next webcast from the LPE Learning Center and sponsored by the Air Quality Education in Animal Agriculture project.

Who, When, Where, and How

Speakers: Dr. Larry Jacobson, University of Minnesota. Jim Sullivan, Minnesota Pollution Control Board Representative, and Dr. Saqib Mukhtar, Texas AgriLife Extension.

Date & Time: September 19, 2008. 2:30 pm (eastern), 1:30 pm (central), 12:30 pm (mountain), 11:30 am (pacific)

Participating in an LPE Learning Center webcast is easy. Follow the steps on How Do I Participate in a Webcast? to test your software, connection speed, and any potential firewall problems.

Other Stories From the July, 2008 Newsletter

Research Summaries Now Available on LPE Learning Center Website
Phosphorus and Nitrogen Availability In Manure From Pigs Fed Low-Phytate Corn
Report Concludes That Air Pollution is Degrading Natural Resources

Connect with us

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Welcome

This is where you can find research-based information from America's land-grant universities enabled by eXtension.org

LOCATE

USDA / NIFA

This work is supported by the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, New Technologies for Ag Extension project.